LCDC AGM 2010


I would like to thank all of the members that took the time to attend this years AGM at the Lincoln Hall SE16. The meeting was well attended, in excess of 70 members were present. The Question and answer session with John Mason and Helen Chapman was heated at times, understandably the anger and frustration many drivers feel was always going to show through. However, I would like to thank you all for the level of decorum that was kept at the meeting, especially as many drivers are experiencing financial hardship in these difficult times.

Many questions were asked and some very good points were made, acknowledged and noted by Mr Mason. Mr Mason gave assurances of his commitment to the cab trade as a whole and described his job asa monumental task”. The meeting was constructive and I look forward to following up on issues that were raised. Once again I would like to thank you all . More on the AGM will follow in the next edition of  “The Badge.”

Grant Davis

Chairman LCDC

6 thoughts on “LCDC AGM 2010

  1. Wish I had just gone to work! Better points were raised before Mason got there and these questions weren’t put to him because for some reason the same old people were given the platform to speak. The only good point put to him that he seemed to note was that was that why should our licience fees increase to give the funds needed to police private hire if theirs were increased to meet the costs that are needed just think how quickly they would get there own house in order!
    Shame I couldn’t have my say but I couldn’t be bothered and didn’t think I had to shout everyone else. In the end I left when my arm went numb.

  2. I think the club membership sent a resounding message to Mr Mason that satellite offices and lack of enforcement are causing damage and hardship to the London cab trade on a catastrophic scale. It was great to see 70+ club members made the effort to attend, I too was unable to make any comments, but plenty did. I guess that’s the way the cookie crumbled at the biscuit factory that night !
    However, I know there was NO agenda to let anyone have a platform, it was all impromptu until people started shouting out at John Mason. Grant Davis was asked from the floor to intervene, from then on all questions went through the chair.
    The meeting is obviously a hot topic as it is being talked about in chat rooms and forums right now. The LCDC is a proper run trade organisation that leads from the front and will continue to remain that way, no matter how hard others are trying to undermine its efforts !

  3. I fully understand the points which have been made. It was emotive and I fully understand your frustrations.
    Maybe next year I will get a list of names at the start, and call members up one by one.
    I must say Stevie G, that at the end of the evening no one else held their hands up ?

  4. I have to dissagree with stevie g. Apart from a few idiots that felt the need to ask mr mason the same question over and over again, which meant time was wasted, I felt some good points were made and mr mason explained the pco’s position well. I have only been a member a short time and don’t know grant, but was given a chance to have my say before and after mason arrived.

  5. Mr Mason did not know who James T H Button is, this is the author of Taxis – licensing law and practice I’m sure in Luke Howard’s letter to the trade, that he mentions him along with TFL legal team, WHAT’S GOING ON HERE?

  6. HI GUYS JUST RECIEVED MY COMCAB STATEMENT WHERE I WAS INFORMED THAT ANY GRATUITIES ON CREDIT CARD JOBS WOULD HAVE TO BE PHONED INTO FCS OR DQO .NOW FOR GIVE ME BUT I CLEARLY REMEMBER MR PAICE INFORMING THE FLEET THAT THIS SYSTEM WAS STATE OF THE ART FAR SUPERIOR THAN MOBISTAR NOW WAS THAT STATE OF THE ART OR BACK TO THE ARK ??????????????

Leave a Reply

